Kidz Rage !

Updating VVindows Anyone ?

Trend Micro

I found this very interesting article on the Trend Micro blog. I wonder how many people have actually used this new Russian site, as it does seem a very crafty idea to trick people into thinking that they are actually visiting a Windows Update site!

No, that’s not a typo. The title for this blog entry is really “Updating VVindows”, with a double V instead of a W. If you’ve noticed that the word “Windows” was written with two Vs instead of a W, then good for you. Chances are, you won’t be easily fooled by VVINDOWSUPDATE.COM

We’ve recently received reports regarding a newly registered domain name called VVINDOWSUPDATE.COM. Created last July 9, this site apparently wants to trick people into thinking that it’s the actual update site for Windows (which is actually http://www.update.microsoft.com). Although there are no pages on the site yet, it’s highly possible that VVINDOWSUPDATE.COM can be used for future web threat attacks.

Here’s some related info on the domain:

Domain Name: VVINDOWSUPDATE.COM

Registrant:
SSS Inc.
Ivan P Sidorov ********@spywaresoftstop.com)
Mira 1-90
Moscow
Karachaevo-Cherkesskaya Respublika,333444
RU
Tel. +543.87987665

Creation Date: 09-Jul-2007
Expiration Date: 09-Jul-2008

Domain servers in listed order:
ns2.vvindowsupdate.com
ns1.vvindowsupdate.com

via Trend Micro Blog

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a reply